The Game Plan

 

The world of teaching is changing at a rapid rate just like technology is. As technology makes its way into the classroom teachers need to adjust their teaching style to support students learning with technology.  The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) has helped teachers set standards and gives teachers guidelines in how to affectively support students learning in this new path. The ISTE requires teachers to develop technology enriched learning environments that enable all students to pursue their individual curiosities and become active participants in setting their own educational goals, managing their own learning, and assessing their own progress, in other words to be self-directed learners ( Cennamo, Ross, Ertmer, 2009).

As a teacher I always ponder what I can be doing to make my students learning experience more engaging and this is the GAME Plan that I came up with that I can start to implement now.

ISTE- 3. Model Digital Age Work and Learning

Goal: I will increase parental involvement by communicating relevant information and ideas u through a classroom website.

Action: I will create a classroom website that will have a daily blog attached. Along with the blog weekly pictures will be updated to help parents feel connected to what their students are learning in the classroom.

Monitor: Parent feedback will be welcome and solicited regularly.

Evaluate and Extend: I will reflect on parent comments and take suggestions on areas where the website might need some work. If there is a lot of parental involvement in the website I will add daily assignments to the website for easy access.

ISTE- 4. Promote and Model Digital Citizenship

Goal:  I will advocate, model, and teach safe, legal, and ethical use of digital information and technology, including respect for copyright, intellectual property, and the appropriate documentation of sources.

Action: Through the Wax Museum project I will model for my students how to research on the internet, site their resources appropriately, and give credit for others thoughts.

Monitor: As students complete sections of the project I will conference with them and the websites they used to gather information making sure that they are being legal and ethical.

Evaluate and Extend: If I find that students are having a difficult time citing their resources I will create mini lessons to help students reevaluate their work to make it appropriate.

Resources:

Cennamo, K., Ross, J. & Ertmer, P. (2009). Technology integration for meaningful classroom use: A standards-based approach. (Laureate Education, Inc., Custom ed.). Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, Cengage Learning.

International Society for Technology in Education (2008).  National educational standards for teachers (NETS-T).  Retrieved from http://www.iste.org/Libraries/PDFs?NETS_for_Teachers_2008_EN.sflb.ashx

2 thoughts on “The Game Plan

  1. Billina,
    You have some wonderful ideas in your post. I really like the idea of creating a blog to interact with parents. I just have a few questions are the students going to be allowed to see and comment on the blog as well? Do you think it will be difficult to keep up with it weekly, I know for me being at two different schools that would be a question I would ponder. Do you think maybe bi-weekly or monthly updates would be just as sufficient. I like the idea of having assignments posted especially for the parent of the student who says they don’t have any homework. For me it would be a great way to communicate not only assignments but also practice schedules and performance dates. I could also include mp3 recordings for practicing. I also agree that teaching students the correct way to use the internet is important and i am taking away your suggestion of making mini lessons instead of overwhelming the students.

  2. Billina,
    I have also considered maintaining a site or a blog for students and their parents to access. One of the areas of concern that I had was with the posting of pictures. I have several parents that have signed refusals for having their child’s pictures or information posted on the internet. While I completely understand their concerns, I feel that this stifles the opportunity for posting other information out of fear that I will “forget” and accidentally post them as part of a group activity.

    I think however, that the benefits of having such a site could far outweigh my fears. Students and parents would be kept apprised of class and school events with more details than what is presented through the use of our daily agenda/assignment books. I think that the motivation of seeing their work and/or pictures on the webpages would encourage students to try even harder and even improve their work quality. Students would also realize that this improved method of communication would allow their teachers and their parents to join forces in their educational journey. And, once students acquire the skills needed, they could even take turns posting information, that is, with strict teacher supervision.

    I wish you luck in this endeavor. Please continue to post to let your readers know how your goal is progressing and what, if any, struggles you encounter along the way.

Leave a Reply

